The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
The Team

The Team

Florian Bettel (Dr. Phil.)
Senior Scientist
University of applied Arts, Vienna
His work focuses on aspects of the history of technology, cultures of dwelling, sepulchral culture, as well as artistic and curatorial activities. Link
Dina Boswank
Artist, lives and works in Berlin
She wanders through practices of creative access to technology and its defining media cultures both by researching and reenacting them. Link
Timo Herbst
Artist, lives and works in Leipzig
In his researches he cooperated with the Overseas Museum of Bremen, Museum of Natural History in Leipzig and the Egyptian Collection Georg Steindorff in Leipzig and has shown his work in several museums and galleries in and outside of Germany. Link
Irina Kaldrack
Guest Professor for „Knowledge Cultures in the Digital Age“ at Braunschweig University of Art
Her research focuses on the theory and history of digital media cultures, knowledge cultures under technological conditions, the media and scientific history of motion, as well as methods of media studies at the interrelation between design processes, artistic practice and academic research. Link
Stefanie Kiwi Menrath
Ethnographer and Cultural Scientist, Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin
After studies of ethnography in Heidelberg and Cologne she is an active member of femalehiphop.net, Ladyfest Berlin und moving records Heidelberg/Berlin. Link
Tobias Schulze
Project assistant, Braunschweig University of Art
He is in the master programme communication and media science at Humboldt-University Berlin, his BA in music and media studies is a historical study of audio recordings by Bessarabia Germans at Berliner Lautarchiv. Link
Konrad Strutz
Artist and Senior Lecturer, University of Applied Arts Vienna
Researching and inventing different modes of perception and representations of space are central topics throughout his work, which has an emphasis on sculpture and photography. Link
Laurie Young
Choreographer and Dancer, lives and works in Berlin
She is interested in the embodiment of unauthorized histories and their representation. Her work is made for the theater, natural history museums and site-specific installations. Link

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Between 24 – 28 of April 2017 the members of the project gathered for the first of a series of workshops. It took place in Braunschweig. During intese days of work, we presented each other materials and methods as well as research and first results of our individual approach to the topic.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics” will host the Lab “The Politics of Gestures” at SchmiedeY. “The Politics of Gestures” Lab will set up a research space, where the interdisciplinary team will pursue the following questions.

Symposium

The Project The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics will be wraping up with a small conference in fall 2018. During this event, we will be presenting process, methods and results of our research to a broader public. Most likely, it will be taking place in Berlin. Updates will follow.

News

Presentation at workshop of VW-Foundation

Presentation of “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media, and Politics” at the second workshop of VW-Foundation’s program “Arts and Science in Motion – Wissenschaft und Kunst in Bewegung”, November 10–12, 2017 held at the Märkisches Gildehaus in Caputh, Germany.

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Das Team

Das Team

Florian Bettel (Dr. Phil.)
Senior Scientist
Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Themen der Technikgeschichte, Kultur(en) des Wohnens, Sepulkralkultur sowie künstlerische und kuratorische Tätigkeiten. Link
Dina Boswank
Künstlerin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin
Sie bewegt sich durch kreative Praktiken technologischer Zugänge und ihren Medienkulturen – durch Beobachtung und Beschreibung und durch ihr Reenactment. Link
Timo Herbst
Künstler, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig
Er war Stipendiat der Goethe Instituts Villa Kamogawa Japan, Art Quarter Budapest, Ungarn und Yarat Contempoarary Art Centers Baku, Azerbaidschan. Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit sind alltägliche und politische Choreographien, deren Zusammenhänge er mit Video, Performance und Zeichnung bearbeitet. Link
Irina Kaldrack
Verwalterin d. Prof. „Wissenskulturen im dig. Zeitalter“, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig
Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen Theorie und Geschichte digitaler Medienkulturen, Wissenskulturen unter technologischen Bedingungen, Medien- und Wissensgeschichte menschlicher Körperbewegung sowie Methoden der Medienwissenschaft an der Schnittstelle von Gestaltungsprozessen, künstlerischer Praxis und medienwissenschaftlicher Forschung. Link
Stefanie Kiwi Menrath
Ethnographin und Kulturvermittlerin, Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin
Studium der Ethnologie in Heidelberg und Köln. Feldforschungen zu Pop- und Musikkulturen und über Künstler*innen in sozialen Räumen. Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ begleitet sie als Prozessbeobachterin und Ethnographin. Link
Tobias Schulze
Projektassistent, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig
Er ist Masterstudent der Medienwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, seinen BA schloss er in Musikwissenschaft und Medienwissenschaft mit einer Forschungsarbeit über historische Tonaufnahmen aus dem Berliner Lautarchiv von Bessarabien-Deutschen ab. Link
Konrad Strutz
Künstler und Lehrender, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Der Erforschung unterschiedlicher Wahrnehmungsmodi und alternativer räumlicher Darstellungsformen kommt zentrale Bedeutung in seiner Arbeit zu, welche vorrangig als Skulptur oder Fotografie ausgeführt ist. Link
Laurie Young
Choreografin und Tänzerin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin
Ihr Interesse gilt der Verkörperung inoffizieller Geschichtsschreibung und ihrer Repräsentation. Ihre Arbeit entfaltet sich im Theater, Naturkundenmuseen und standortspezifischen Installationen. Link

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Forschungsprojekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ ist mit dem Labor „Die Politik der Gesten“ auf der diesjährigen Schmiede vertreten. In einem eigens eingerichteten Forschungsraum widmet sich das interdisziplinäre Team anhand von Vorträgen, Workshops, künstlerischen Installationen und Interventionen unterschiedlicher Fragen.

Symposium

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wird im Herbst 2018 mit einem Symposium abschliessen. Im Zuge dieses Events stellen wir Prozesse, Methoden und Ergebnisse einer größeren Öffentlichkeit vor. Es wird voraussichtlich in Berlin stattfinden. Updates folgen.

News

Präsentation auf einem Workshop der VW-Stiftung

Präsentation des Projekts “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media, and Politics” auf dem zweiten Workshop des Programms “Arts and Science in Motion – Wissenschaft und Kunst in Bewegung” der VW-Stiftung vom 10.–12. November 2017 im Märkischen Gildehaus in Caputh, Deutschland.

Transforming Political Gesture through a Chain – Performance Lecture und Installation

Am Freitag, den 1. November präsentierten Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst und Irina Kaldrack eine work-in-progress-Arbeit im Rahmen der internationalen Konferenz „Affective Transformations: Politics. Algorithms. Media“, die vom 1.–3. November an der Universität Potsdam stattgefunden hat.

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture Politics and Media wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partner möglich: